IRRESPONSIBLE OR UNAPPRECIATIVE

IRRESPONSIBLE OR UNAPPRECIATIVE

Story by L. Dennis

Episode 1

An old man, Mr kwame laid on the wall with his crutches in his arms. His son, Ben, stood angrily beside him for a while and left there. Mr kwame walked slowly to take his seat. Ben came there to inform his dad that the car is in.

Mr kwame: hey boy, I’m exhausted. I need to rest.

Ben: why don’t we get to the car and rest in the car. The driver is waiting for us.

Mr kwame: he can wait. Since morning I’ve not eaten and you’re not thinking about that rather how you can get home early.

Ben: please I’ve a quiz to write at 12pm so I have to get to school at least 10minutes before the time that’s why I want us to go as early as possible.

Mr kwame: I hope you’re not insisting that your class is more important than my health?

Ben: oh! How could I?

Mr kwame: better. Then patiently wait for me and stop pressurizing me. I’m not well.

Ben: what do you mean? Are you telling me to forgo my quiz and class?

Mr kwame: whatever.

Mr kwame placed his hands on the chair in front of him and his head on his hands. Ben taped him to wake up.

Mr kwame: take your hands off me.

Ben: man, I won’t take that from you. Just stand up and let’s go. I’m losing it.

Mr kwame: look at this small boy. If you lose it, what will happen. I want to see what will happen and for that reason, I’m not moving. Better you can still leave me here.

Ben: you better stop maundering.

Mr kwame: me? Maundering? You’ve not seen nothing in life yet. Subtract your 25 from my 75 and weigh the difference. Or because of the law degree you pursuing in an unrecognized university? And even that who knows you can graduate with a better class that will earn you a job.

Ben: wicked man! I know you’ve bad plans for me but you won’t get me.

A man, William, intervened in their quarrel.

William: gentleman do realize you’re polluting the place with noise? You can’t do this in the hospital.

Mr kwame: he don’t respect and if he don’t repel from his arrogant attitude, he won’t reach anywhere in life.

Ben: like seriously you’re the first person letting me know I’m arrogant. If that’s true, then I’m just imitating a little of your arrogance.

William: Old man, you’re sick so you don’t have to talk too much. I’ll talk to your son.

Mr kwame: thank you.

William and Ben walked out to have a discussion. They came back later and picked Mr kwame to the car.

Everyone has a story to tell. Whether irresponsible or unappreciative, dads are not celebrated as mums.

Grab the next episode?

Published by

Dennis Lawer

Level 200 student of University of Ghana. Sociology and religion.

Leave a Reply

