Story

A kwamekrobo production. Story by Lawer Dennis And Edited By Ossom Emmanuel.

BOUND TOGETHER

Episode 7

My remaining years in school was solely your mama and nobody else. I completely abstained from Korkor as your mama opted for. There were ups  and downs which rather strengthened our relationship so the bond became stronger. We graduated in the same year and she was stationed to 37 Military Hospital while I was busily looking for a job. I fruitlessly searched for job for two years. During that period, I was breeding on my parents and Mag. I could boldly refute the idea that very woman loves a guy because of his money as far as Mag is concerned. Neither mag nor my parents acted or passed comments to afflict pain in me. However, pressure from Mag’s family demanding she get married and quit hanging out with a jobless guy was very persistent. I knew it but she acted as though everything was ok. I became fed up cos it sounded unwise for a guy of my age and qualification to be breeding on a lady and his parents. One day, I went over Mag’s placed with a saddened face. “We need to talk” I said bitterly.

Mag: Okay. I’m here but I thought I told u you look ugly when you frown. Let me see that smiling face of yours.

Me: i don’t care whether I look good or ugly. We have to talk and that’s what I want.

Mag: Hey! Dee don’t be rude. What’s wrong with you? Remember our motto

“we don’t approach problem with anger cos we want this relationship far”, we recited together and slowly in a low tone. She gave me a shallow kiss to show some love.

Mag: that’s my boy. What’s wrong? We can talk now..

Me: I really thank you for all you’ve been doing for me. You deserve all the plaudit. I want to leave Accra and go somewhere else, probably my village to win bread for myself. I want to be a man now. I will be leaving tomorrow or…

Mag: shh! ( she place her finger on my lips), you’re a man. That’s the least I can do for you. I’m not complaining,besides second class upper in psychology is not bad. Deep in my heart, I know we are going to break through. If there is no job in Accra what will be the situation in your village. Don’t forget you promised me.

Me: yeah. I promise to love you forever and not to be a burden forever. Your mama called yesterday and she told me she is fasting with strategic prayers so very soon the spell i cast on you will be broken. “I don’t know what’s so special about you which is keeping my daughter while other rich, handsome, employed, abled men are waiting”, she added. (I stood there with tears in my eyes)

Mag: oooooow! Dee, I’m sorry…

Watch Out For Episode 8

Published by

Dennis Lawer

Level 200 student of University of Ghana. Sociology and religion.

Leave a Reply

